Blog #4

Read:
““Can you be BLACK and Look at This?” Reading the Rodney King Video(s)” — handed out in class and emailed

Write a 500 word blog post answering the following questions:
Due: October 31, 9:00 am

1. What is the question that author Elizabeth Alexander is trying to answer in this article?
2. Why does Alexander include slave narratives and the story of Emmett Till in this article about Rodney King?
3. Why did Emmett Till’s mother chose to have an open casket funeral?
4. How did LAPD Sergeant Stacy Koon view the Rodney King view? What was his claim on how this changed the narrative of what happened?
5. On page 85 Alexander quotes this response from a local resident to the Rodney King beating: “By the time they was done I needed 28 stitches in my head. When I saw the Rodney King video I thought of myself laying on the ground and getting beat. I felt the same way all our people felt when we blew up.”  What does this person mean by this? What is their experience viewing this video?

Leave a comment